What are Fard, Wajib, and Sunnah of Hajj?

As Muslims, we must be aware of the Fard, Wajib, and Sunnah of Hajj. Hajj, which is the fifth pillar of Islam, is obligatory on all those who are capable to perform it. Hajj should be performed with full knowledge so that no mistakes are made during it.

Fard of Hajj

There are three fard acts that a Hajj pilgrim shall perform. The performance of Hajj is not complete righteously until the three Fard is accomplished properly.

  1. Enter into Ihram

Assuming ihram for Hajj purpose is the very first fard of Hajj upon a pilgrim. One shall have the intentions (niyah) of Hajj to enter ihram and then shall recite the Talbiyah i.e. the Labaik in full form. There are certain things that are Haram for people wearing Ihram.

  1. Wuquf at Arafat

Staying at Arafat for some time, after the midday of the 9th of Dhul Hijjah to the sunset of the 9th of Dhul Hijjah, is a Fard of Hajj. A Hajj pilgrim is obliged to stay in Arafat for some time.  He can stay there during the above-mentioned time period even for a few moments, but he has to. 

  1. Tawaf AL Ziyarah

Performing a Tawaf al Ziyarah is also a Fard of Hajj. This tawaf has to be performed at any time after getting free from sacrifice, shaving your head and changing your Ihram since the morning of the 10th Dhul Hijjah till the sunset of the 12th Dhul Hijjah.


A Hajj pilgrim shall bear in mind that there are 6 Wajib acts of Hajj. If any of these wajib acts are left intentionally, Hajj will remain valid but a penalty in the form of sacrifice of an animal or a sadqa has to be paid.

However, if anyone leaves a wajib of Hajj without an excuse, it is a sin that cannot be overcome through any Sadqa or Qurbani. The pilgrim in such a case shall seek forgiveness. So, everyone should know about the six wajib acts of Hajj.

  1. Waqf at Muzdalifah

To stay at Muzdalifah after sunset of the 9th of Dhul Hijja till the Fajr prayer of the 10th of Dhul Hijja is a wajib act of Hajj. Waqf at Muzalifah is done after the Wuquf at Arafat which is fard of hajj.

  1. Saee between Safa and Marwa

Performing Saee between Safa and Marwah mountain is another wajib act of Hajj. It is generally performed along with Tawaf Ziyarah.

  1. Jamarat

Stoning at the Jamarat is one of the wajib acts of Hajj. It is important to note that you can only go for pelting after the Fajr prayer of the 10th of Dhul Hijjah.

Most of the scholars believe that it is not allowed to stone the Jamarat before Fajr prayer of 10th of Dhul Hijjah. It is also important to understand the reason behind pelting these pillars.

  1. Sacrifice an Animal

One who is performing Hajj Qiran or Hajj Tamattu has to offer an animal sacrifice i.e. a wajib act of Hajj. Recommended: How many types of Hajj are there in Islam?

  1. Shaving the Head

Once you have performed all of the above-mentioned acts of Hajj, you are required to shave or cut the hair of the head which is another wajib act of Hajj.

  1. Tawaful Wada

Tawaf al Wida is a wajib act for those pilgrims who have come to perform Hajj from outside the boundaries of Miqat. People living within the boundaries of Miqat, are not required to perform it. However, it is better if they perform it.

Once again to clarify, if fard of hajj is left intentionally or unintentionally, the performance of Hajj remains incomplete. While a wajib act can be compensated with sadqa or dum.

Sunnah of Hajj

There are certain sunnah of Hajj that is not compulsory to follow nor is there a sin of not following them. Yet a reward is always there in following the sunnah of hajj of the Holy Prophet PBUH. May Allah accept our efforts and guide on to the correct path.

For the latest updates, you can join our WhatsApp group.

Steve has been living in Saudi Arabia since 2013 and writing about Saudi rules, regulations, guides, and procedures since then.