Why do passports around the world have only 4 colors?

Well, it is quite interesting to know that passports worldwide have only 4 colors: red, green, blue, and black. Have you ever wondered why?

  • On what basis does a country choose its passport color?
  • Why are there only four colors for passports worldwide?
  • What is the meaning of each color?

RED colored passports

A red-colored passport is chosen by those countries that were either communist or European Union.

Countries such as Slovenia, China, Serbia, Russia, Latvia, Romania, Poland, and Georgia have a passport cover of red color.

Different shades of red are used. For example, European Union countries members hold a passport of Burgundy color and other shades of red.

Croatia is the only EU country that holds a differently colored passport.

Some countries like Turkey, Macedonia, and Albania want to join the EU. These countries have recently changed the passport color to red.

Never pay the full price🏷️; join the 📢Saudi Coupon Codes group and get sales updates and discount codes in one place.

Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru, who belong to The Andean Community of Nations, have published passports of a burgundy color.

The British passport was once navy blue. It had been blue since 1920, but in the 80s, it was replaced by the burgundy passports of the European Union.

Blue Colored Passports

Blue color among passports are the second most common color. Among passports, the blue color symbolizes the proponents of the “new world.” The nationals of 15 Caribbean countries possess blue-covered passports.

The Mercosur countries such as Brazil, Argentina, and Paraguay have passports of blue color.  Here, the blue color is used to represent the connection with Mercosur.

Even though Venezuela is part of Mercosur, it does not have a blue-colored passport. The people of Venezuela hold a red-colored passport. The citizens of the United States have maintained a blue-colored passport since 1976.

Since blue passports are typically ordinary in New World countries and Caribbean states, it’s possible that the deep blue color of the Indian passport is to make a cultural statement.

Green Colored Passport

A green-colored passport is held by citizens of Islamic states such as Morocco, Saudi Arabia, and Pakistan.

The color green symbolizes nature and life. Also, the Islamic states prefer to have green-colored passports as green is the favorite color of Prophet Muhammad ﷺ.

However, many West African countries also possess green-colored passports. Not because they are Muslim countries but because the green color symbolizes that they are part of The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

These countries are Burkina Faso, Nigeria, Niger, the Ivory Coast, and Senegal. To show their affiliation with ECOWAS, these countries have issued their travel documents in green color.

Black Colored Passport

African countries like Botswana, Zambia, Burundi, Gabon, Angola, Chad, Congo, and Malawi have black-colored passports. Also, the nationals of New Zealand hold a passport of black color as black is their national color.

For the latest updates, you can join our ✅WhatsApp group or ☑️ Telegram Channel.