7 Levels/Gates of Hell (Jahannum) and the people who will be living there

You might get goosebumps after reading this that the world will come to an end and all the people will be lifted up on the Day of Judgment where the deserving people will be sent to heaven (Jannah) and people who do not act according to the teaching of Allah and his prophets will go to hell (Jahannum). Just like Jahannum, there are 7 gates of Jannah as well.

There are 7 gates of hell, a blazing fire, boiling water, the tree of Zaqqum and 7 levels and each one is stricter than the one above it. “And indeed, Hell is the promised place for them all. It has seven gates; for every gate is of them a portion designated.”  – Quran 15:43-44[irp]

1-JAHANNUM – the first gate of hell: The fire will burn the faces of the men and women who enter through this gate. The faces will surely be burnt and the fire will eat their flesh. This is the lightest punishment that can be given in Hell.

“Those who remained behind rejoiced in their staying [at home] after [the departure of] the Messenger of Allah and disliked to strive with their wealth and their lives in the cause of Allah and said, ‘Do not go forth in the heat.” Say, “The fire of Jahannum is more intensive in heat” – if they would but understand.” Quran 9:81

“Indeed, those who disbelieve in Our verses – We will drive them into a Fire. Every time their skins are roasted through We will replace them with other skins so they may taste the punishment. Indeed, Allah is ever Exalted in Might and Wise.” – Quran 4:56

2-LADHA – the second gate of hell: The fire will eat and finish the body parts one by one, both internally and externally. People who did not believe in Allah (Tawheed) and rejected the Prophets (Peace Be upon Him) and His Messenger will enter through this gate.

“No! Indeed, it is the Flame of Hell (Ladha)” – Quran 70:15


3-SAQAR – the third gate of hell: People who enter through this gate will be punished such that the fire will eat up their flesh but not bones.

“I will drive him into Saqar. And what can make you know what is Saqar? It lets nothing remain and leaves nothing [unburned], Blackening the skins. Over it is nineteen [angels]”. – Quran 74:26-30

Following are the acts which would throw them to this level and make them guilty.

  1. They did not pray Salah (i.e. prayer).
  2. They did not give food to the poor.
  3. They used to talk vainly with those who talk in vain.
  4. They used to deny and reject the Day of Reward.

“We were not of those who used to pray and we didn’t feed the poor and we used to talk vainly with those who talked vain talk and we used to deny the Day of Recompense until death came to us and we saw the reality of all that we denied” Quran 74:40-47

4-HUTAMAH – the fourth gate of hell: The fire will break the bones of these humans and blaze the heart and other organs inside the body. The fire will start eating from feet and blaze until it reaches the heart.

“Nay they will be thrown into Al Hutamah (i.e. Crushing Fire). And what will make you know what Al Hutamah is? The fire of Allah kindled by men and stones which scorches the hearts. Surely it is vaulted over them in pillars widely extended.” – Quran 104:4-9

5-JAHEEM – the fifth gate of hell: In this hell, there are big pieces of hot coal and one piece is bigger than the lower one as we know it. People who will be thrown through this gate are the ones who;

  1. Did not have the correct belief in Allah.
  2. Declined to give the creations their rights.
  3. Did not give food to the poor.

“Seize him and shackle him!! Then roast him in Jaheem (i.e. hellfire) in chains that are seventy cubits long. This is because he did not believe in Allah, the Magnificent and he did not encourage the feeding of the poor.” – Quran 69:30-34

6-SA’EER – the sixth gate of hell: The fire in this hell is continuously burning and has never stopped or finished from burning from the day it was formed. There are 300 places and in each, there are 300 rooms and in each room, there are 300 kinds of penalties. There are scorpions and snakes, ropes and chains and irons. There is a well of pain which is unique and unbearable.

“And thus We have revealed to you an Arabic Qur’an that you may warn the Mother of Cities [Makkah] and those around it and warn of the Day of Assembly, about which there is no doubt. A party will be in Paradise and a party in the SA’EER.” – Quran 42:7

“And they will say: “If we had listened and used our intellect we would not be inhabitants of As Sa’eer (i.e. blazing fire)!! They confessed their sins but away with the companions of As Sa’eer” – Quran 67:10-11

7-HAAWIYAH – the seventh gate of hell: Nobody will come out from this level of hell. There is a fire mountain and the people who are against Allah will be laid down on this mountain on their faces and their hands will be tied to their necks and the necks will be tied to their feet and Zabaaniyah (angels of this level) will stand over them.

Allah says The hands of angels will be like iron and they will beat them in the hell one at a time with their hands, they will shout so loud that everyone would hear.

“As for the one whose scales are light, then the Hawiyah will embrace him like a mother embraces her child. And what will make you know what Al Hawiyah is? It is a kindled fire burning hot.” – Quran 101:8-11

“We will call Zabaaniyah (The angels of Hell.” – Quran 96:18

For the latest updates, you can join our WhatsApp group or Telegram Channel.

Never pay the full price, download Saudi Coupon Codes application and get all discount codes in one place.

Steve has been living in Saudi Arabia since 2013 and writing about Saudi rules, regulations, guides, and procedures since then.